SERIES 7 | FINANCIAL REGULATION COURSES
FINRA Rule 2124 — Net Transactions with Customers — requires any FINRA member firm that acts as a market maker and executes a transaction with a customer on a net basis to first provide disclosure to and obtain consent from that customer before the net transaction is executed — establishing a tiered disclosure and consent framework that applies different requirements to non-institutional customers and institutional customers, ensuring in both cases that the customer understands the nature of a net transaction and has consented to that execution method before the market maker uses it in connection with the customer's order.
Net transactions are a specific and important category of principal transaction in equity securities that market makers use in over-the-counter equity markets — the market maker, after receiving the customer's order, first buying or selling the securities in a separate trade with another broker-dealer or another customer and then completing the customer's order at a different price. Understanding what a net transaction is, why it requires specific disclosure and consent, and how those requirements differ between retail and institutional customers is directly examined on the Series 7 qualification examination.
Rule 2124 was adopted from its predecessor NASD Rule 2441 — which had become effective October 2, 2006 — without material change, with effect from December 14, 2009, and was last amended effective December 5, 2011. Regulatory Notice 18-29 — issued September 12, 2018 — reminds firms of their obligations under the trade reporting rules and the other FINRA and SEC rules that apply when they effect OTC trades in equity securities on a net basis, Rule 2124 among them, and works through an example of how a net transaction is structured and reported, while the questions and answers FINRA published in Notice to Members 06-47 when the rule was adopted address how the disclosure and consent requirements apply.
What Is a Net Transaction — The Definition
Rule 2124(e)(2) defines a net transaction precisely — a principal transaction in which a market maker, after having received an order to buy or sell an equity security, purchases or sells the equity security at one price from or to another broker-dealer or another customer, and then sells to or buys from the customer at a different price.
The net transaction structure involves two linked but separate trades — the market maker's trade with another broker-dealer or another customer at one price, and the customer transaction at a different price — with the market maker's compensation being the difference between the two prices rather than a separately identified commission. This embedded compensation structure is the defining feature of net transactions — the customer pays or receives a price that reflects the market maker's markup or markdown from the price of its other trade, but that markup or markdown is not separately disclosed as a commission would be in an agency transaction.
A concrete example illustrates the mechanics clearly. A retail customer places a market order to buy one thousand shares of an OTC equity security. The market maker buys one thousand shares from another dealer at forty dollars per share. The market maker then sells those same one thousand shares to the customer at forty dollars and ten cents per share. The ten-cent-per-share difference — totalling one hundred dollars — is the market maker's net compensation for the transaction. The customer has paid forty dollars and ten cents, not forty dollars plus a separately identified commission — the market maker's spread is embedded in the net transaction price.
The critical distinction from a riskless principal transaction is important for examination purposes. In a riskless principal transaction the member also buys and then sells in a back-to-back sequence — but in a riskless principal transaction the member's compensation must be disclosed on the customer confirmation under SEC Rule 10b-10. In a net transaction the compensation is embedded in the price difference between the two linked trades.
Why Net Transactions Require Disclosure and Consent
The disclosure and consent requirement of Rule 2124 addresses a specific investor protection concern — customers who receive execution at a net price may not immediately recognise that the market maker has embedded its compensation in the price spread, or that the execution methodology used involves the market maker taking a principal position rather than acting as a pure agent.
Transparency about execution methodology matters to customers for several reasons. A customer who understands they are receiving a net execution knows that the market maker's compensation is embedded in the price rather than separately charged — enabling them to evaluate the true total cost of the transaction. A customer who does not understand the net execution methodology may believe they are receiving a pure agency execution at market price with no additional cost — a misunderstanding that could lead them to assess the transaction's economics inaccurately.
The consent requirement serves the additional function of ensuring the customer has agreed to the net execution methodology — rather than having it applied without their knowledge. A customer who has been properly informed about net transactions and consents to receiving net executions has made an informed decision that they accept the embedded compensation structure — whereas a customer who receives net executions without disclosure has had the execution methodology chosen for them without their knowledge or agreement.
Non-Institutional Customers — Written Order-by-Order Consent
Rule 2124(b) establishes the most demanding consent standard — applicable to all non-institutional customers who are not institutional accounts as defined in FINRA Rule 4512(c). For non-institutional customers — retail investors, and any other customer whose account is not an institutional account — the member must obtain written consent on an order-by-order basis prior to executing each net transaction.
The written requirement for non-institutional customers reflects the higher level of investor protection appropriate for retail investors who may be less familiar with execution mechanics and less equipped to assess the implications of net versus agency execution without written documentation of their understanding. The order-by-order requirement prevents a blanket consent obtained at account opening from serving as indefinite authorisation for all future net transactions — each net execution requires fresh specific consent from the retail customer.
The consent must evidence the customer's understanding of the terms and conditions of the order — not merely a checkbox acknowledging that a disclosure was received. The written consent must demonstrate that the customer actually comprehends what a net transaction is, how their execution will be structured, and what the implications are for their transaction economics. A consent that a customer clearly signed without reading or understanding — evidenced by the absence of any meaningful engagement with the disclosure content — does not satisfy Rule 2124's requirements even if it is technically in writing and obtained on an order-by-order basis.
Institutional Customers — Three Alternative Consent Methods
Rule 2124(c) provides institutional customers — defined by reference to the institutional account definition of FINRA Rule 4512(c) — with three alternative methods for satisfying the disclosure and consent requirement, reflecting the regulatory recognition that sophisticated institutional investors are better equipped to understand and manage net execution mechanics without the strictest retail safeguards.
The first method is the negative consent letter — a written disclosure document sent to the institutional customer that clearly explains the terms and conditions for handling customer orders on a net basis and gives the customer a meaningful opportunity to object. If the institutional customer does not object, the member may reasonably conclude that the customer has consented to net executions. This negative consent mechanism — where silence constitutes consent — is not available for non-institutional customers precisely because retail investors cannot be assumed to have the sophistication to meaningfully evaluate a negative consent letter and to understand the significance of not objecting.
The negative consent letter can cover all or a portion of the customer's orders as instructed by the customer — giving institutional customers flexibility to consent to net executions for some order categories while requiring alternative execution for others. This order-category specificity ensures that institutional customers can tailor their consent to match their specific operational preferences and execution quality requirements.
The second method is oral disclosure and order-by-order consent — the market maker verbally explains the terms and conditions of the net execution to the institutional customer on each order and obtains oral consent before executing. This method requires the member to document the customer's understanding and consent on an order-by-order basis — creating a paper trail that demonstrates each individual consent was obtained. The documentation requirement for oral consent is essential — without it the claimed oral consent would be unverifiable in a subsequent examination or dispute.
The third method is written order-by-order consent — the same standard applicable to non-institutional customers, available to institutional customers who prefer the certainty of written documentation for each net execution. Institutional customers may choose this method when their internal compliance requirements mandate written documentation of all execution methodology consents regardless of regulatory minimum standards.
Fiduciary Consent — Investment Advisers and Other Fiduciaries
Rule 2124(d) addresses a practically important situation — customers who have granted trading discretion to a fiduciary, such as a registered investment adviser, trust company, or other third-party manager. In these cases the member is permitted to obtain the required consent from the fiduciary rather than from the underlying customer directly.
This fiduciary consent provision recognises the operational reality of discretionary managed account relationships — the investment adviser or other fiduciary makes all trading decisions on behalf of the underlying customer and is the appropriate counterparty for execution methodology discussions. Requiring separate disclosure to and consent from the underlying customer for each net transaction in a discretionary account managed by a fiduciary would be operationally impractical and inconsistent with the fiduciary's role.
When the fiduciary itself qualifies as an institutional customer under Rule 4512(c) — as any investment adviser registered with the SEC or with a state securities commission does by its category alone — the member may meet the disclosure and consent requirements using any of the three institutional customer consent methods described in Rule 2124(c). A negative consent letter sent to the investment adviser can therefore cover net executions in all discretionary accounts managed by that adviser — a significant operational simplification for market makers executing net transactions across large numbers of discretionary accounts.
How the Requirements Were Settled — The Approval Record
When the requirements now in Rule 2124 were proposed as NASD Rule 2441, commenters objected that written, order-by-order consent from non-institutional customers would be impractical and costly, and one argued that having a customer sign a disclosure before every trade would provide no information not already available elsewhere. NASD acknowledged the burden of obtaining written consent order by order but kept the requirement, explaining that written disclosure and consent are important to ensure that information about a member's methods of compensation is provided to non-institutional customers and that those customers agree to those methods — and that the market information available to customers would not help a customer determine whether a member is trading net, or understand what trading net means for that customer.
The oral method for institutional customers was itself added during that process. Commenters had asked that consent be obtainable orally on each order, with the disclosure given once in a single comprehensive statement. NASD added the oral route but did not consider a one-time disclosure appropriate for it — a member that chooses oral consent must explain the terms and conditions for handling the order to the institutional customer before each transaction, and must give the customer a meaningful opportunity to object to the execution of that transaction on a net basis — and the Commission found that resolution reasonable and consistent with investor protection.
One commenter also saw a potential conflict between the proposal and the trade reporting rule that governed how the price of a principal trade is stated on a trade report. NASD responded that the trade reporting requirements for net trades were not germane to the disclosure and consent rule and needed no change, and the Commission agreed that they were not implicated. The disclosure and consent obligation therefore sits alongside the trade reporting rules rather than modifying them — how each trade in a net transaction is reported is settled by those rules on their own terms.
The Scope Limitation — Market Makers Only
A critically important feature of Rule 2124 that is directly tested on the Series 7 examination is its application only to market makers — member firms that make markets in equity securities by standing ready to buy and sell for their own account. Regulatory Notice 18-29 explicitly confirmed that Rule 2124 does not impose disclosure and consent obligations on non-market makers.
A member firm that occasionally takes a principal position in an equity security to facilitate a customer order — but that is not registered as a market maker in that security — is not subject to Rule 2124's disclosure and consent requirements when it executes a net transaction. This is not because the firm has no disclosure obligations — it must still provide fair pricing and accurate confirmations under Rules 2121 and 2232 — but because Rule 2124's disclosure and consent obligations are not imposed where the compensation is already separately disclosed: SEC Rule 10b-10(a) requires a firm that is not a market maker, where after receiving the customer's order it buys or sells to offset a contemporaneous trade with that customer, to disclose on the confirmation the difference between the price to the customer and its own contemporaneous purchase or sale price, whereas a market maker's compensation on a net trade generally is not separately disclosed on the confirmation.
This market maker limitation connects Rule 2124 directly to FINRA's market making registration requirements and to the broader distinction between market makers and other broker-dealers in equity trading — a distinction that appears throughout the FINRA rulebook in contexts ranging from short selling to trading ahead of customer orders.
Whose Status Counts — Broker-Dealer Orders, Contrary Instructions and Large Accounts
The obligation runs to customers. In approving the rule the Commission recorded NASD's clarification that the rule does not apply to orders received from member firms and other registered broker-dealers, and that a broker-dealer that receives an order marked net, routed to it by an originating broker-dealer, has no disclosure and consent obligation to the customer of the originating broker-dealer for whom it is handling the order — in both cases the originating broker-dealer is responsible for adhering to the requirements. FINRA has since noted that the rule applies expressly only to transactions with or on behalf of a customer, meaning a person that is not a broker-dealer.
The fiduciary provision also carries a qualification that the rule text does not spell out. The look-through to the fiduciary was added to the proposal as an option for the member, and it is a default: absent instructions to the contrary, a member may look to the institutional or non-institutional status of the fiduciary, rather than that of the underlying account, when deciding which method of disclosure and consent is allowed — so that, as FINRA explained when the rule took effect, the institutional methods may be used for an institutional fiduciary notwithstanding the status of the ultimate customer.
Which customers are institutional is decided wholly by Rule 4512(c), to which Rule 2124(e)(1) refers, and that definition does not follow the everyday division between individuals and institutions. Besides banks, savings and loan associations, insurance companies, registered investment companies and registered investment advisers, it takes in any other person — whether a natural person, corporation, partnership, trust or otherwise — with total assets of at least fifty million dollars. An individual customer whose total assets reach that level therefore holds an institutional account, and a market maker may obtain that customer's consent to net transactions by any of the three institutional methods, including a negative consent letter.
Connection to Trade Reporting and Best Execution
Rule 2124 operates alongside FINRA's OTC equity trade reporting requirements — under which a net transaction is not reported as one trade at the interdealer price: the market maker's trade with the other party and its trade with the customer are each reported for public dissemination, the trade with the customer at the net price. Regulatory Notice 18-29 addresses this trade reporting dimension explicitly — confirming that both trades must be reported for public dissemination (in its example, the market maker's purchase from another firm at forty dollars and its sale to the customer at the net price of forty dollars and ten cents), whereas only one leg of a riskless principal transaction is reported for public dissemination.
The trade reporting treatment of net transactions affects market data — the reported net price becomes part of the public price discovery record that other market participants and regulators use to assess market conditions. Accurate reporting of the net price is therefore both a regulatory compliance obligation and a market integrity requirement that ensures the public price record accurately reflects the prices at which customers are actually transacting.
Rule 2124 also connects to FINRA Rule 5310's best execution obligation — market makers executing net transactions must ensure that the net price charged to customers satisfies the best execution standard, which requires the member to use reasonable diligence to ascertain the best market for the security and to buy or sell in that market so that the resultant price to the customer is as favorable as possible under prevailing market conditions. Regulatory Notice 18-29 confirms that the net price is the price used to assess compliance with that obligation, and that the factors of particular relevance in evaluating the trade with the customer may include the prevailing market price at the time of execution and the terms and conditions of the order, such as whether the customer consented to trade on a net basis.
Net Trading Permitted, and Measured at the Net Price
FINRA rules do not prohibit net trading or mandate the prices at which a firm must execute the initial and the offsetting transactions. A firm that chooses to trade on a net basis must instead comply with every applicable rule — the trade reporting rules and Rule 2124 among them — and FINRA has stated that those rules are applied on the basis of the net price of the transaction, the net or reported price being the execution price for purposes of determining compliance.
Rule 5320's protection of held customer orders shows what that means in practice. Suppose a firm is holding a customer's limit order to sell 100 shares at forty dollars and five cents, and it then buys 1,000 shares of the same security from another firm at forty dollars and sells them to a different customer on a net basis at forty dollars and ten cents. In determining the firm's obligation under Rule 5320 the benchmark is the net price of forty dollars and ten cents, not the price exclusive of the differential — and because the firm has made a principal trade at a price that would satisfy the held limit order, it must execute that order.
FINRA has also warned that some firms may be improperly taking advantage of the trade reporting requirements for net trades for the express purpose of inflating trading volume. Depending on the facts and circumstances, such conduct may be treated as a violation of FINRA rules, including the rule against manipulative, deceptive or other fraudulent devices and the rule governing the publication of transactions and quotations.
Recordkeeping Requirements
Rule 2124(f) requires members to retain and preserve all documentation relating to consent obtained under the rule in accordance with FINRA Rule 4511's general books and records requirements — connecting the consent documentation directly to the six-year default retention period of Rule 4511 and the format and media requirements of SEC Rule 17a-4.
The recordkeeping obligation ensures that FINRA examiners can verify compliance with the disclosure and consent requirements by reviewing the actual consent documentation obtained from customers — rather than relying on the member's representations about its consent practices. The retention of negative consent letters, written order-by-order consents, and documentation of oral consents creates an evidentiary record that demonstrates the member's systematic compliance with Rule 2124 across its market-making activities.
Examination Relevance and Key Takeaways
FINRA Rule 2124 is tested on the Series 7 examination in the context of net transactions, market makers, disclosure and consent requirements, and the distinction between retail and institutional customer treatment.
The key points to retain are these.
FINRA Rule 2124 — Net Transactions with Customers — applies only to market makers executing net transactions in equity securities. A net transaction is a principal transaction in which a market maker buys or sells at one price from or to another broker-dealer or another customer and then sells to or buys from the customer at a different price — with the market maker's compensation embedded in the price difference rather than charged as a separate commission.
Before executing any net transaction the market maker must provide disclosure to and obtain consent from the customer. For non-institutional customers — retail investors and any other customer whose account is not an institutional account — written consent on an order-by-order basis is required, evidencing the customer's understanding of the terms and conditions of each net execution. For institutional customers — accounts qualifying as institutional accounts under Rule 4512(c) — three alternative consent methods are available: a negative consent letter covering future orders where silence constitutes consent, oral disclosure and order-by-order consent with documentation, or written order-by-order consent. For customers with discretionary fiduciary managers the consent may be obtained from the fiduciary — with institutional treatment available if the fiduciary itself qualifies as an institutional customer. Rule 2124 does not apply to non-market makers. All consent documentation must be retained in accordance with FINRA Rule 4511.


